Undergraduate Webinar

The Faculty of Health Sciences at Nelson Mandela University is committed to building healthier communities, thanks to its innovative plan for health professionals education in South Africa.

The focus of our programmes is on primary and preventative health care. With interprofessional education as an essential building block to achieve this, groups of students, from all 10 departments in the Faculty, together with facilitators, spent time in under-resourced communities where they engaged with community members through an asset based approach to understand the challenges, the strengths, the realities, and the needs of our diverse communities.

The Faculty is expanding is facilities for learning on the North and South campuses to include state of the art laboratories and teaching venues at the Missionvale campus closely situated to the various health facilitates where our students do work integrated learning. As the Faculty grows, one of its core principles is to ensure that it can help strengthen public facilities and services in partnerships. The FHS currently offers qualifications in 10 health professions. These include nursing, emergency medical care, radiography, biokinetics/ human movement science, dietetics, pharmacy, environmental health, medical laboratory science, psychology, and social development and will soon introduce medicine into its qualification mix.



Prof Dalena Van Rooyen – Deputy Dean: Faculty of Health Sciences

Prof Ilse Truter - Director of Schools: Clinical Care Sciences & Medicinal Sciences (Presentation)

Prof Zoleka Soji - Director of Schools: Behavioural Sciences & Lifestyle Sciences (Presentation)

Prof Fikile Nomvete – Director: Medical Programme

Prof Joanne Naidoo - Director: Research for Faculty of Health Sciences

Prof Nanette Smith - Acting Director: Learning & Teaching (Presentation)

Ms Nathi Nelani - Academic Advisor


Communication and Marketing

Contact information
Ms Cleo Fleur
Acting Faculty Academic Administration Consultant
Tel: 041 504 2956