• Promoting learning and teaching development activities in the Faculty.
  • Promoting the development of learning and teaching as a scholarly activity in the Faculty.
  • Selecting members of the Faculty as recipients of awards for innovation and excellence in Learning and Teaching.
  • Promoting enhancement of learning and teaching practices relating to, for example-
    • Course and curriculum preparation and assessment.
    • The professional development of undergraduate and postgraduate teaching.
    • Pedagogies and strategies of learning and teaching in view of the diversity of our students and purposes of our learning programmes.
    • Instructional technologies and other resources.
    • Implementation of Higher Education policies and Nelson Mandela University policies related to learning and teaching matters.
  • Stimulating debates on best practices.
  • Liaising with relevant institutional units for learning and teaching support.
  • Making recommendations to the Dean and FMC on the sourcing and allocation of both internal and external funding to support learning and teaching in the Faculty.
  • Develop Faculty/School/Departmental policies related to learning, teaching and assessment that are aligned to institutional policies and submitting the policies to the FMC and/or Faculty Board for approval.
  • Considering learning and teaching matters referred to it by the FMC, Faculty Board or Nelson Mandela University TLC.
  • Promoting co-curricular activities that address the holistic development of students.
  • Developing strategies to enhance the quality of learning and teaching in the Faculty.
Acting Director: Learning & Teaching
Nanette Smith
Prof Nanette Smith
Position: Acting Director: Health Sciences Learning & Teaching
Department: Medical Laboratory Science
Room: 102E, D Block
Location: North Campus
Phone: 041 504 3102
Email: Nanette.Smith@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Biochemistry)
Responsibilities: Lecturing and Leading the Faculty‚Äôs Learning & Teaching Committee

Administrative Assistant to Director: Learning & Teaching
Mrs Deirdre' Bowers
Position: Secretary
Department: Medical Laboratory Science
Room: D Block, 102L
Location: North Campus
Phone: 041 504 2884
Email: Deirdre.Bowers@mandela.ac.za
Responsibilities: Administration, Office Management

Committee Members
Annelie Gresse
Prof Annelie Gresse
Position: Head of Department
Department: Dietetics
Room: 126-0002
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042048
Fax: 0415042770
Email: annelie.gresse@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: DSc Dietetics
Expertise: Nutrition, Food Service Management, Hospitality Management, Dietetics
Responsibilities: Lecturing, administration Dietetics

Dr Konesh Navsaria
Position: Lecturer
Department: Psychology
Room: 0027A
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042687
Email: konesh.navsaria@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Ma (Co).; PhD
Expertise: Psychobiography; Substance abuse
Responsibilities: Lecturer

Dr. Annaline Keet
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Social Development Professions
Room: 0523
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044917
Email: Annaline.Keet@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Social work
Responsibilities: Teaching at pre and post-graduate level. Managing Teaching and learning portfolio of department. 4th year level coordinator.

Elizabeth du Toit
Dr Elizabeth du Toit
Department: Emergency Medical Care
Location: Off-campus
Phone: 041 5043276
Email: Elizabeth.dutoit@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MBBCh, DA, DipEC, MPH

Dr Mark Kramer
Position: Lecturer
Department: Human Movement Science
Room: 125 0110
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4630
Email: mark.kramer@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD, MA Biokinetics(Cum Laude), BHMS(Hons) Biokinetics(Cum Laude), BCom HMS(Cum Laude)
Expertise: Biokinetics, Biomechanics and Exercise Physiology
Responsibilities: Lecture, research, run Biomechanics and Exercise Physiology laboratories

Mrs Arisha Prahaladh
Position: Lecturer: Physiology
Department: Physiology
Room: 0302b Building 12
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2439
Fax: 041 504 2814
Email: arisha.prahaladh@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Physiology (University of Stellenbosch)
Expertise: Human Anatomy and Physiology

Mrs Natalie Mansvelt
Position: lecturer
Department: Social Development Professions
Room: 0518
Location: South Campus
Phone: 501 4101
Email: natalie.mansvelt@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA (SW) Stellenbosch, MA Welfare Programme Management Stellenbosch
Expertise: Community Development, International Community Service Learning

Mrs Mariaan Buckle
Mrs Mariaan Buckle
Position: Lecturer
Department: Medical Laboratory Science
Room: D block 102J
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3354
Fax: 0866147821
Email: Mariaan.Buckle@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Hons; PGCHE; MHSc:MLS
Expertise: Blended Learning
Responsibilities: Anatomy, Physiology, Cell Biology

Mrs Cheryl Swanepoel
Mrs Cheryl Swanepoel
Position: Head of Department
Department: Environmental Health
Room: Room 13, F Block
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9106
Fax: 27 41 504 3117
Email: cheryl.swanepoel@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech Environmental Health
Responsibilities: Epidemiology modules

Mrs Karin Gerber
Ms Karin Gerber
Position: Lecturer
Department: Nursing Science
Room: 0206F
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2961
Fax: 27 41 504 2616
Email: Karin.Gerber@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Nursing) (c), M Cur, B Cur, Dip (Nursing Education) Cert (Burn care) (ABA), Cert (Frontline management)
Expertise: General Nursing Science, Wound care.
Responsibilities: Teaching: General nursing science, Nursing admin and Nursing education, Research supervison, student administration

Ms Nobuzwe Bavuma
Ms Nobuzwe Bavuma
Position: Faculty Librarian: Health Sciences
Department: Library & Information Services
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2284
Fax: 041 504 2280
Email: nobuzwe.bavuma@mandela.ac.za

Mr Sydney Campbell
Mr Sydney Campbell
Position: Lecturer
Department: Radiography
Room: Room 0004, H Block
Location: Ocean Sciences Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3583
Fax: 27 41 504 1643
Email: Sydney.Campbell@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Rad (D) (PET), BTech Rad (D) (PET), MTech Rad (Research) (NMMU)

Mr Piet Roodt
Mr Piet Roodt
Position: Director: Quality Advancement
Department: Quality Advancement
Room: 1613, Main Building
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3399
Email: piet.roodt@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Institutional Quality Management, HEQC, Quality Management Reviews

Mr Francisco de Vega
Mr Francisco de Vega
Position: Academic Development Professional
Department: Centre for Teaching, Learning and Media
Room: R112
Location: North Campus
Phone: 041 5043241
Email: Francisco.deVega@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BAHons(Psych)

Paul Quinton Allan
Mr Paul Allan
Position: Lecturer
Department: Emergency Medical Care
Room: C-Block, Office C241
Location: Ocean Sciences Campus
Phone: 041 504 3276
Fax: 041 504 1803
Email: paul.allan@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip (EMC), BTech (EMC)
Expertise: Neonatology
Responsibilities: VEMT, VEMP, VWIL, VPHP

Academic Advisor Nathi Nelani
Department: Faculty of Health Sciences
Room: D 105
Location: North Campus
Email: nathi.nelani@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSW (NMU)

Heloise Levack
Mrs Heloise Levack
Position: Faculty Academic Administration Consultant
Department: Faculty of Health Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2749
Fax: 27 41 504 1462
Email: heloise.levack@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip Office Management & Tech (NMMU
Responsibilities: Programmes: Social Work & Pharmacy