

Faculty Scholarly Spotlight Afternoon

The Faculty of Health Sciences Directorates of Learning and Teaching and Research hosted the Faculty Scholarly Spotlight afternoon on 11 October 2024, at the Science Centre's Dome, Ocean Sciences Campus This was a debut event in which both directorates united in celebration and recognition of excellence within the faculty. Eight award nominees (6 research category applications (Research Excellence, Early Career, Impact, Transformation, and Collaboration; 2 Applications for Collaboration and Innovation in Learning and Teaching) as well as 14 certificate of recognition nominees were recognised. The certificate of recognition is designed to honour colleagues acknowledged by peers and professionally recognized within and outside the university. Staff from Nursing, Radiography, HMS, SDP, Pharmacy, and Medical School are among the nominees.

The Awardees were:

- Research Excellence- Dr Wilma ten Ham-Baloyi, Department of Nursing Sciences
- 2. Early Career in Research- Dr Siphesihle Nqweniso, Department of Human Movement Sciences
- 3. Research Impact- Dr Riaan van de Venter, Department of Radiography
- 4. Research Collaboration- Dr Aayesha Kholvadia, Department of Human Movement Sciences
- 5. Research Transformation- Dr Nevashnee Perumal, Department of Social Development Profession
- 6. Learning and Teaching Collaboration- Dr Aayesha Kholvadia, Department of Human Movement Sciences
- 7. Learning and Teaching Innovation- Dr Riaan van de Venter.

The Dean, deputy dean and all directors of schools in the faculty as well as the Director of Research Support and Management of the institution- Dr Palesa Mothapo were in attendance in this auspicious event.



UNIVERSITY



Above: Right, Prof Zingela (Executive Dean) and Prof Soji (Director: Behavioural and Lifestyle Sciences)



Above: Health Science Staff members enjoying the music





UNIVERSITY



Above: Staff members in attendance of the Scholarly Spotlight. From Top left, Ms V Ntsalu was a recipient for the runner up of Excellent teacher award, Ms Cindy Booysen from the medical school received certificate of recognition by peers, while Dr Terri-Lyne Forgaty received certificate of recognition for Scholarly development Mr V Oosthuizen received the certificate of recognition for his Professional expertise. On the top right are staff members from Social Development Profession, with DoS Prof Soji as well as DR Perumal who was an awardee for the research transformation category. Bottom left, Prof Paula Melariri (FHS Research Director) with colleagues from Research Support and Management. Bottom right, is Mr Campell, the HoD of Radiography with Dr Riaan Van de Venter an awardee of Research Impact category, and Learning and Teaching Innovation category as well as Ms Hayley Hodgson who received the certificate of recognition for Student Choice in the School of Clinical Care and Medicinal Sciences.